The Louis-Marie Herbarium offers this guide to anyone who may be interested in making an herbarium.


    Label template (etiquettes_herbier_en.zip)
    Microsoft Excel and Word files

     

    Ethics

    The collection of specimens needs to be done with respect for the private property and for the laws governing the parks, nature reserves and preservation zones. Furthermore, the collector must be aware that in order to protect the biodiversity of Quebec, to date, 78 taxa are protected by the law. The list of species is available on the government of Quebec website:


    www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/biodiversite/especes/index.htm

     

    Harvesting Equipment

     

     

     

    Harvest

    1. Choice of specimen

    Herbaceous plants

     

    Trees and shurbs


    Lichens


    Bryophytes


    Fungi

    Seaweeds and aquatic plants

     

    2. Pressing and Drying

    The pressing and drying method will vary according to the different plant group. The pressing itself consists of placing a specimen in between newspaper sheets, spreading it in its natural standing position, and pressing it flat to dry so it can ultimately be mounted on a cardstock. While spreading the sample, make sure that both sides of the leaves are visible, and turn the flowers or fruits in various directions so that every sides will be visible. On hot and sunny days, it's important to quickly press the specimens or to keep the plastics bags containing the samples in the shade.

    Pressing and Drying Equipment

     

     

    5. Mounting

    Mounting method will vary according to the different plant group. Once mounted, vouchers should be stored in cabinets away from light, and at a constant air humidity ranging from 30 to 50%. Mesures to prevent against insect pests damages should also be taken. In these conditions, the dried plant specimens should keep for centuries.

    Vascular Plants and Seaweeds

     

     

     

    Specimens are secured to 29 x 42 cm white cardstocks (A3, tabloid or 11 x 17 in format) using archival grade gummed linen tape. The label is placed at the bottom right corner.

     

    Herbaceous and woody plants

     

    Seaweeds and aquatic plants


    Ferns


    Lichens and bryophytes


    Fungi


    In the field, leave the press in full sun, or on the luggage rack of a car, taking care of aligning corrugation flute to allow maximum air flow through the press.

    In the laboratory, use a low heat-source, such as two 60 W bulbs in a plant drier. The press is built by stacking corrugated cardboards and foam (i.e., cardboard-foam-plant in newspaper-cardboard). Fasten Compress between two hardwood board and fasten with the straps. Drying can take up to 48 hours.
     

    Fleshy plants, seaweeds and aquatic plants take more time to dry. Rotating the press everyday over the dryer should help getting a more uniform drying. Once dry, remove the specimens from the press and store in a dry place, away from direct light and insect predation. A fast and effective drying will help preserve the plants' original colors. It is however preferable to avoid overheating the specimen. Do not exceed a tempertature equivalent to that of two 60 W light bulbs.


    3. Notes

    The following informations noted in the field, in a notebook, will later help to make a label for the herbarium specimen.

    Collection number


    Date


    Plant name


    Location


    Habitat


    Collector(s)

     

    4. Herbarium Label
    The label should be printed on acid-free paper and contain the following information.

    Fungi

     


     

     

    Lichens and bryophytes

L'Herbier Louis-Marie met ce guide à la disposition de toutes personnes intéressées à confectionner un herbier.


    Modèle pour créer vos étiquettes (etiquettes_herbier.zip)
    Ficher Microsoft Excel et Word

     

    Éthique

    La cueillette de spécimens doit se faire dans le respect de la propriété privée et des lois qui régissent les parcs, les réserves naturelles et les zones de conservation. De plus, le collectionneur doit savoir qu’afin de garantir la sauvegarde de l'ensemble de la diversité génétique du Québec, à ce jour, 78 taxons sont protégés par la loi québécoise sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérables. La liste de ces taxons est disponible sur le site Internet du gouvernement du Québec :


    www.mddelcc.gouv.qc.ca/biodiversite/especes/index.htm

     

    Matériel de cueillette

     

     

     

    Cueillette

    1. Choix du spécimen

    Plantes herbacées

     

    Arbres, arbustes et arbrisseaux


    Lichens


    Bryophytes


    Champignons

     

    Algues et plantes aquatiques

     

    2. Pressage et séchage

    Les méthodes de pressage et de séchage varient selon le groupe de végétaux. Le pressage proprement dit consiste à placer le spécimen à l’intérieur d’une chemise de papier journal, de l’étaler en conservant le plus possible son port naturel et de le presser. Par temps chaud et ensoleillé, il importe de procéder rapidement au pré-pressage des spécimens fraîchement récoltés sur le terrain et d’abriter des rayons ardents du soleil ceux qui sont transportés dans des sacs de plastique.

    Matériel de pressage et de séchage

     

    5. Montage

    La méthode de montage et de conservation varie selon chaque groupe de végétaux. Une fois montés, les spécimens sont rangés à l’obscurité, à une humidité relative de 30-50 %, dans des armoires étanches, à l’abri des insectes. Dans ces conditions, ils se conserveront pendant des siècles.

    Plantes vasculaires et algues

     

     

     

    Les spécimens sont fixés sur un carton blanc, avec des petites bandes de ruban gommé entoilé. L’étiquette est placée dans le coin inférieur droit.

     

    Plantes herbacées et plantes ligneuses

     

    Plantes aquatiques et algues


    Fougères


    Lichens et bryophytes


    Champignons


    Sur le terrain, la presse est placée au soleil, à l’intérieur ou sur le porte-bagages d’une automobile, en prenant soin de placer la partie ouverte dans le sens du mouvement de l’air.

    En laboratoire, une source de chaleur douce, notamment celle de deux ampoules de 60 W est privilégiée pour le séchoir. La presse est constituée d’une superposition de cartons ondulés et de caoutchouc mousse, comprimés par des courroies entre deux planchettes rigides. Afin de favoriser la convection de l’air (circulation verticale de l’air chaud à travers la presse) et d’améliorer l’efficacité du séchage, les cannelures sont coupées dans le sens de la largeur des cartons et la presse est placée sur un support d’au moins 15 cm de haut. Généralement, le séchage s’effectue en 24-48 heures.

     

    Les plantes charnues, les algues et les plantes aquatiques prennent plus de temps à sécher. Il s’avère alors important de tourner quotidiennement la presse pour uniformiser le séchage. Retirer les spécimens de la presse aussitôt qu’ils sont secs et les placer à l’abri de l’humidité, de la lumière et des insectes. Plus le séchage sera efficace, plus les spécimens garderont leur couleur d’origine. Il est toutefois préférable d’éviter la surchauffe et de ne pas dépasser une température équivalente à celle dégagée par deux  ampoules de 60 W.


    3. Les notes

    Les éléments suivants notés sur le terrain, dans le carnet de récolte, permettront de confectionner l’étiquette qui accompagnera le spécimen d’herbier.

    Numéro d’échantillon


    Date


    Nom de la plante


    Localité


    Habitat


    Collectionneur(s)

     

    4. L’étiquette d’herbier
    L'étiquette qui accompagne chaque spécimen d’herbier est imprimée sur du papier de qualité d’archives et comprend les éléments suivants :

    Champignons

     


     

    Lichens et bryophytes