A herbarium is a collection of dried plant specimens that bear witness to the existence of plant species at different stages in their life cycles, in diverse locations on the planet, and at precise moments in human history. In this manner, each specimen possesses intrinsic heuristic and heritage values and cannot be replaced. The idea of collecting plants goes back to the first stumblings in botany. At that remote time, plants were primarily destined to be used for medicinal purposes. The botanists therefore only collected living plants which they cultivated in a garden: this was the herbarium vivum or living herbarium.

    With the coming of the sciences, an interest in vegetation began to develop that was beyond their strict medicinal usages. The number of known plants increased and their geographic origins diversified. Paralleling this, the number of species that were difficult to cultivate in their gardens increased. It therefore became more practical to press and dry the plants and mount them on paper in order to preserve them for a long time. Thus the herbarium siccum or dry herbarium was born. The practice of accumulating specimens and building facilities to preserve them became more widespread and herbariums were constructed in all of the centers where science was flourishing. The oldest herbariums, which were spared from wars, fires, insects, and other plagues, are found in Florence and Bologne in Italy, as well as in Leiden in the Netherlands. They date back to the 16th century.

    The herbarium siccum, despite its popularity, did not completely replace the herbarium vivum. Indeed, they have persisted up to the present in the form of botanical gardens which, while still playing an important scientific role, have had their original mission to heal diseases be replaced by one emphasizing their aesthetic value. Today, the term “herbarium” applies only to the herbarium siccum.

    A herbarium specimen is above all a witness to the existence of a plant species at a specific location at a given moment of time. In regards to the profound natural and anthropogenic modifications which have occurred and are still occurring to the vegetation cover of our planet, herbariums are extremely important places of scientific and cultural heritage. Herbariums constitute an important part of our “vegetation memory”. The other part of this memory is preserved in published scientific works.

    In addition to their heritage value, herbariums are important teaching and research tools for several disciplines including botany, taxonomy, phylogeny, ecology, and biogeography. In order to play an essential role in these domains, a herbarium must possess three fundamental characteristics: it must assemble the greatest number of species possible, include all of the ontogenical development stages for each species, and contain a large number of specimens for each species.

    A herbarium is firstly a place to preserve the diverse vegetation of a given region and secondly a tool to identify plants, at any stage of development, by comparing them with the specimens in the collection. The latter is certainly the most common usage of herbariums, as it is this fundamental starting point in plant knowledge that attracts amateurs, students, professors, and professionals in the plant sciences to herbaria.

Un herbier est une collection de spécimens végétaux séchés témoignant de l'existence d’une espèce à différents stades de son cycle vital, en divers endroits sur la planète et à des moments précis de l'histoire humaine. Compris de cette façon, chaque spécimen possède une valeur heuristique et patrimoniale intrinsèque et ne peut être remplacé. La volonté de constituer une collection de plantes remonte aux premiers balbutiements de la botanique. À cette époque lointaine, les végétaux étaient principalement destinés à un usage médicinal. Les botanistes d’alors ne rassemblaient que des plantes vivantes qu’ils cultivaient dans un jardin : c’était l’herbarium vivum ou l’herbier vivant.


    Avec l’avènement des sciences, l’intérêt pour les végétaux commence à dépasser leur stricte utilité médicinale. Le nombre de plantes connues augmente alors et leur provenance géographique se diversifie. Parallèlement, les difficultés de leur culture en jardin augmente. C’est alors qu’apparaît la pratique, pour les conserver longtemps, de dessécher les plantes en les aplatissant pour finalement les fixer à un support de papier. L’herbarium siccum ou l’herbier sec est né. Avec l’accumulation de spécimens ainsi préparés et les facilités de conservation de telles collections, cette pratique se généralise et des herbiers sont ainsi constitués dans toutes les métropoles où les sciences sont florissantes. Les plus vieux herbiers européens qui ont été épargnés par les guerres, les incendies, les insectes et autres fléaux sont conservés en Italie, à Florence et à Bologne, ainsi qu’aux Pays Bas, à Leiden. Ils datent du 16e siècle.


    L’herbarium siccum, malgré sa popularité, n’a toutefois pas complètement supplanté l’herbarium vivum. En effet, ce dernier a persisté jusqu’à nos jours sous la forme de jardins botaniques où la mission originelle qui était de guérir les maladies a largement fait place à celle du plaisir des yeux tout en jouant toutefois un rôle scientifique important. Aujourd’hui, la dénomination herbier ne s’applique plus qu’à l’herbarium siccum.


    Un spécimen d’herbier est avant tout un témoin concret de l’existence d’une espèce végétale à un endroit précis et à un moment donné. En regard des modifications profondes d’origine naturelle et anthropique qu’a subi et que subira encore la couverture végétale de notre planète, les herbiers constituent un patrimoine scientifique et culturel de toute première importance. C’est en effet dans les herbiers que se constitue une partie importante de la mémoire végétale des peuples. L’autre partie de cette mémoire est inscrite dans les travaux scientifiques publiés.


    Outre cet aspect patrimonial, les herbiers sont des outils d’enseignement et de recherche de toute première importance pour plusieurs disciplines allant de la botanique, à la taxonomie, la phylogénie, l’écologie et la biogéographie. Afin de jouer un rôle essentiel dans ces domaines, un herbier se doit de présenter trois caractéristiques fondamentales : rassembler le plus grand nombre d’espèces possible, comporter tous les stades de développement ontogénique de chaque espèce et comprendre un nombre élevé de spécimens de chaque espèce.


    L’herbier est d’abord un endroit de conservation de la diversité végétale d’une région donnée et ensuite un outil de référence pour l’identification des plantes par comparaison, quel que soit le stade de développement de la plante à identifier. C’est certainement l’usage le plus répandu des herbiers, car il est à la base de la connaissance des végétaux qu’acquièrent amateurs, étudiants, professeurs et professionnels des sciences végétales.