ON SITE CONSULTATION

    The Louis-Marie Herbarium collection is open to university and college researchers and students, as well as to professionals and amateurs, who wish to identify specimens, study the taxonomy and systematics of particular groups, gather information regarding the geographic distribution of taxa, or sample small amounts of plant material for genomic studies.


    LOANS

    The Herbarium’s resources are available to members of the university community for teaching and research purposes, as well as to researchers at other institutions around the world. Each year thousands of specimens are expedited to other herbariums. Likewise, the Louis-Marie Herbarium borrows thousands of specimens to the benefit of the researchers at our institution. The use of vaucher specimens is conducted according to the usual standards in order to ensure the perennity and integrity of the specimens.


    EXCHANGES

    The Louis-Marie Herbarium assure a specimen exchange program with other institutions. A priority is given to vascular plants, bryophytes, and lichens from boreal, subarctic, and arctic regions. For more information, please contact the curator (herbier@herbier.ulaval.ca)


    IDENTIFICATION

    The Herbarium offers an identification service for botanical specimens. Due to the high demand, this service is not free of charge. Contracts can be arranged for the identification of large numbers of specimens. For more information, please contact the curator (herbier@herbier.ulaval.ca).


    SPECIALIZED LIBRARY

    Volumes
    The Herbarium has around 3000 books on Québec, Canada, North America and Europe Flora.

    Works on taxonomy, systematics, ecology, and horticulture occupy an important place in the library. In addition, the library also contains documents on mycology, bryology, and lichenology.

    The Herbarium library titles are listed in the Laval University Library catalog.

CONSULTATION SUR PLACE

    La collection de l’Herbier Louis-Marie est à la disposition des chercheurs et des étudiants universitaires et collégiaux, ainsi qu’aux professionnels et amateurs avertis aux fins d'identification de spécimens, de l’étude taxonomique et systématique de groupes particuliers, de la cueillette d'information sur la répartition géographique des taxons et du prélèvement de matériel aux fins d’analyse génomique.


    PRÊTS ET EMPRUNTS

    Les ressources de l'Herbier sont à la disposition des membres de la communauté universitaire aux fins d'enseignement et de recherche, ainsi qu’aux chercheurs d’autres institutions dans le monde. Chaque année, des milliers de spécimens sont expédiés vers d’autres herbiers. De même, l’Herbier Louis-Marie emprunte des milliers de spécimens au bénéfice des chercheurs de notre institution. L’utilisation des spécimens empruntés doit se faire selon les normes usuelles visant à en assurer leur intégrité et leur pérennité.


    ÉCHANGE

    L’Herbier Louis-Marie assure un service d’échange de spécimens avec d’autres institutions. Une priorité est accordée à l’échange de plantes vasculaires, de bryophytes et de lichens des régions boréales, subarctiques et arctiques. Pour de plus amples renseignements, vous pouvez vous adresser au conservateur (herbier@herbier.ulaval.ca)


    IDENTIFICATION

    L’Herbier offre un service d’identification de spécimens botaniques. Étant donné une forte demande, l’identification des spécimens se fait contre rétribution. Toute demande comprenant une grande quantité de spécimens à identifier pourra faire l’objet d’une entente contractuelle particulière. Pour de plus amples renseignements, vous pouvez vous adresser au conservateur (herbier@herbier.ulaval.ca).


    BIBLIOTHÈQUE SPÉCIALISÉE

    Volumes
    L’Herbier Louis-Marie dispose de quelques milliers de volumes sur la flore du Québec, du Canada, de l’Amérique du Nord et d'Europe.

    Les ouvrages portant sur la taxonomie, la systématique, l’écologie et l’horticulture occupent une place importante dans la bibliothèque. De plus, la bibliothèque compte plusieurs documents traitant de mycologie, de bryologie et de lichénologie.

    Les livres de la bibliothèque de l'Herbier Louis-Marie sont inclus dans le catalogue électronique de la bibliothèque de l'Université Laval.